Holding me back?!?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Holding me back?!? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I'm new to the whole "Turbo" side of a motor. When I floor it anywhere below 4K RPM, it's perfectly ...

Holding me back?!?

I'm new to the whole "Turbo" side of a motor. When I floor it anywhere below 4K RPM, it's perfectly smooth utill I get to 4K, from 4K to 5K it feels like someone is holding me back, then at 5K on up I get my power back. According to the OEM Boost Gauge, I don't have a lack of pressure from that 4 - 5K range. Can anyone give me an insite as to what this issue might be?

The wierd thing is that every now and then the car works 100%, it'll boost fine and the power gradully gets better as the RPM's get higher.

I don't have a ryme or a reason to what might be causing it. The car is 100% percent bone stock. I bought it used from a Subaru dealership.

Any thoughts?

And for all you clubwrx.net "senior" members, YES, I hit up the search field before posting.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by 04WRXR
    I'm new to the whole "Turbo" side of a motor. When I floor it anywhere below 4K RPM, it's perfectly smooth utill I get to 4K, from 4K to 5K it feels like someone is holding me back, then at 5K on up I get my power back. According to the OEM Boost Gauge, I don't have a lack of pressure from that 4 - 5K range. Can anyone give me an insite as to what this issue might be?
    What gear are you in? Is the car actually accelerating slower? The stock WRX's powerband is pretty lumpy feeling. It is not smooth or linear.

How much boost are you getting and are you keeping it floored the whole time?
    2008 Satin White Pearl WRX Sedan w/ Navi
    2005 San Remo Red WRX Sedan w/ VF34 (traded)
    Pi Kappa Alpha | New England Flat 4