Clutch question.....HELP....

This is a discussion on Clutch question.....HELP.... within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; What steps can I take to in sure that I won't burn up my clutch and to make it last? ...

Clutch question.....HELP....

What steps can I take to in sure that I won't burn up my clutch and to make it last?
    I'm somewhat new to shifting and not sure of the Do's and Don't of a clutch.
    Help, please.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

The best method is to modulate the throttle and clutch pedal together. For example, try not to rev the car too much while releasing the clutch from a dead stop. As you slowly increase RPM, 100 - 200 more than idle, with proper control, begin to release the clutch until under way. Do not rev the motor to oblivion and drop the clutch repetitively. Do not rest your foot on the clutch pedal while driving, likewise try not to rock the car or hold the car on an incline with the clutch. Keep this in mind, and you should go a long way in prolonging your clutch and pressure plate.
    2008 Evo X GSR. Custom tuned, Works panel filter, Intercooler pipe upgrade, TBE.

Quote Originally Posted by dcpatters
    The best method is to modulate the throttle and clutch pedal together. For example, try not to rev the car too much while releasing the clutch from a dead stop. As you slowly increase RPM, 100 - 200 more than idle, with proper control, begin to release the clutch until under way. Do not rev the motor to oblivion and drop the clutch repetitively. Do not rest your foot on the clutch pedal while driving, likewise try not to rock the car or hold the car on an incline with the clutch. Keep this in mind, and you should go a long way in prolonging your clutch and pressure plate.
    What rpm's should I be at before I start to release the clutch?