Yep, another noob with synthetic motor oil questions
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Yep, another noob with synthetic motor oil questions within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Now before you get on my case, I did search and read as much as I could on the topic. ...

Yep, another noob with synthetic motor oil questions

Now before you get on my case, I did search and read as much as I could on the topic. I've been researching for about 3 or 4 days now, but can't quite come to a conclusion.

Ok, It's about that time for another oil change ( my second one ) and decided to go synthetic. I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to technical how-to’s or what-to’s for that matter.
    So the big question is what oil should I use.
    My situation is, daily driving ( 30 miles pre day, about ) auto trans if it matters, and soon to be full cat less TBE. I don't mine the extra cost for the "good kind” if there is such thing but don't wanna cut corners when it comes to reliability. Now I do like to push my car every now and then, but when appropriate. I say this because I’m not a track rat but do like to visit the quarter mile every now and again and would like something that can put up with the best of both worlds.

Now I've heard some things on how some oils are better than one another, but does one drastic differ from the other? And is there a difference if your running cats or catless with motor oil?

The two main oils I have in mine are Redline and Castrol. If there is one I should seriously think about please fill me in.

Thanks-
    Last edited by Subie do; 05-27-2006 at 10:34 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I have an 4EAT 02 WRX and I use Royal Purple, I can't say anything bad about it. I definately noticed a difference from the regular oil. Just my .02
    NEW ENGLAND F4

TUNERNetwork.com
    Great site for anyone in the north east.