CEL - cyl 1 and 2 misfire on stock 02 WRX - cause for concern?

This is a discussion on CEL - cyl 1 and 2 misfire on stock 02 WRX - cause for concern? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys, i'm new to subarus but definately not new to cars. Anyway, today i lit up a CEL passing ...

Exclamation CEL - cyl 1 and 2 misfire on stock 02 WRX - cause for concern?

Hey guys, i'm new to subarus but definately not new to cars. Anyway, today i lit up a CEL passing somebody today and upon checking it, pulled the codes p0301 and p0302 (cylinder 1 misfire detected and cylinder 2 misfire detected, respectively). at the time the CEL lit, there was no hiccup in the powerband; the car didn't miss a beat nor was the car put into limp mode. I recorded the codes, deleted them and went driving trying to see if it would light up for me again or if i could get it to hesitate - neither of which happened. This is on a totally bone stock 02 wrx. My question: is this a normal thing or something that occurs periodically in warm weather (it was a bit warm today in los angeles) or somethin like that OR should i look into this further?

My neighbor who owns a lightly modded mitsu evo said he sometimes lights up the p0300 CEL (multiple cylinder misfire detected) briefly and nothing ever comes of it which leads me to think this may be something related to california 91 octane gas plus turbo plus warm weather. your thoughts?

By the way, i just bought my WRX last week and i love it!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Admiral Ackbar the 1st mycologist's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    How many miles are on the car? Is the service up to date.

My guess is either bad gas (probably) or tune up stuff, e.g. plugs etc.

69,000miles on the car and according to the previous owner, the servce is up to date. I'm not going to worry about it too much unless it happens again.