2006 WRX underboost issue
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on 2006 WRX underboost issue within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey everyone! I first want to start off by saying this is my first time posting on this forum and ...

2006 WRX underboost issue

Hey everyone! I first want to start off by saying this is my first time posting on this forum and recently purchased my first Subaru. I bought a 2006 wrx In August '15 from a used car dealership. I know..I know.. a risky move. The wrx has 112,000 miles, very clean, and had a long maintenance history on carfax. I'm a Chrysler Technician and have good mechanical knowledge. I inspected the car very thoroughly, Undercarriage has little to no rust, engine bay spotless, interior 9/10, body 9/10. Had minimal mods, although put up a red flag right away. HKS vta bov, HKS Hi-power catback exhaust, and a short ram air intake. Test drove vehicle for about 30 min, no abnormal noises and drove very well. The only thing that stood out to me was that I was expecting it to have better acceleration. Before this I dailyed my Miata for the last 3 years, and this wrx felt about the same, but with more torque. So, long story short I bought it and it has been a PITA since. What I've done since buying it after realizing somethings wrong: Stock temp NGK Iridium sparkplugs gapped to .028", Fuel line feed side damper (Had knocking sound by driver side door sill area a day after buying it), Mishimoto intercooler hose kit, cleaned throttle body and new gasket, intercooler bpv gasket, intercooler y-pipe gaskets, a Perrin turbo inlet hose, replaced hks bov with a stock BPV. I also performed
    a compression and leak down test on the engine. Compression test results were 135 psi (dry) on all cylinders. Leak down test results were Cyl.#1- 7% Cyl.#2- 7%Cyl.#3- 13% Cyl. #4- 7%.