Brand new car tuning?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Brand new car tuning? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey I wanted to know if it's safe to tune and put bolt ons on my soon to be new ...

Brand new car tuning?

Hey I wanted to know if it's safe to tune and put bolt ons on my soon to be new car. I ordered the 2015 sti and just waiting for it to get here but I would like to know if I should wait until the first oil change then do all of the bolt ons and tune?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I'm no expert on the matter but if I were you, I would definitely wait a few thousand miles before doing anything so you can break in the engine a bit. At the very least, drive it around stock for a while just to make sure you don't have any warranty problems right off the bat. That's just me though.

I went stage 2 with all supporting mods before my first oil change

MTM
    STI is still an EJ25 so not like its anything new engine wise....

I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome

You should wait until at least your break in period is over for engine modifications. If you are really itching to start modding, you could start with bushings and what not right off the bat, but if it were me I would want to wait at LEAST until I hit engine break in just in case the engine was a lemon. That way you can be sure to get it covered under warranty and they won't blame the mods on it. Break in doesn't take too long if you don't want it to.

What color/trim did you go with? Excited to see pictures once you get it!

Enjoy it stock for as long as possible because once you start modding it....well....its hard to stop.I love my modded wrx but I sure do miss it in stock form as well. I assume subaru will have SPT parts for it if you want to go that route for the time being.
    <-------- Taylor Swift.
    2006 WRX 330whp. 300wtq. Slow.
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #137