mysterious coolant leak PLEASE HELPP!
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on mysterious coolant leak PLEASE HELPP! within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey, I have been doing work on my wrx since I got it in 2007, while I have read an ...

Exclamation mysterious coolant leak PLEASE HELPP!

Hey, I have been doing work on my wrx since I got it in 2007, while I have read an uncountable amount of helpful posts this is my first post ever. I couldn't find others specific enough to diagnose my problem, so hoping you can help.

I have a 2005 WRX stock (I replace everything with OEM parts.) I did timing belt/water pump about 15k miles ago.

While doing a routine oil change i noticed my coolant was low. Then when I took off the skid plate I noticed a bit of coolant pooled up on the passengers side. After farther investigation, I noticed more coolant pooling up just to the left of the alternator. The whole front of the timing belt cover is also soaked! First thing I thought of was the radiator hose that is right there, but when I look where it connects at the hose clamp it doesn't really seem like that could be the source. It seems like the majority of it is behind that. I had a friend rev the engine up to about 4000 RPM while i looked to see any leak but I could not indicate any happening. Does anyone have an idea where this leak might be coming from!? I am not super familiar with the entire coolant cycle and where the leak could be from. I have posted several pictures below of where I can see coolant. Thanks for your help in advance.

http://i1283.photobucket.com/albums/...ps498ae53f.jpg
    http://i1283.photobucket.com/albums/...pscbbd36d2.jpg
    http://i1283.photobucket.com/albums/...ps06b9d264.jpg
    http://i1283.photobucket.com/albums/...psaa82bc92.jpg

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX