Misfire CEL problems! Please help.

This is a discussion on Misfire CEL problems! Please help. within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So I recently bought a stock 2002 WRX with 145k, this is my first subie and I'm really new to ...

Misfire CEL problems! Please help.

So I recently bought a stock 2002 WRX with 145k, this is my first subie and I'm really new to working with cars. It's giving me a bunch of different misfire codes ranging from P302 to P302-3 and even P302-3-4 or P301-2-3. The idle seems fine, it stumbles a very small amount every now and then but nothing I would consider out of the ordinary. I am getting inconsistent boost at higher RPM ranges though. It's like the boost will surge then die down then surge then die down again but in rapid succession. The CEL that comes on doesn't blink and going into high RPM ranges doesn't trigger it. I've done a few things to try to fix the issue already which I will post below. I'm completely stumped on this and I would seriously appreciate some help. Thanks in advance guys.

Replaced spark plugs - NGK Iridium
    Swapped coil packs
    Cleaned fuel injectors
    Cleaned MAF
    Replaced fuel filter
    Replaced crankshaft position sensor

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I would do a compression test if I were you. I you replaced all the plugs and coil packs, cleaned/replaced fuel parts, then that doesn't leave much else.

I haven't troubleshot random-ish multiple misfires before but a compression test couldn't hurt.
    N.E.R.D. # 3.579545 MHz

Bugeye Mafia v 2.0 # 371

pete25r's build

I Support ClubWRX
    Resident Adviser @ WTF Tuning, LLC
    2002 FORESTER S
    1998 FORESTER S