New Subaru Owner Wrx Engine Question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on New Subaru Owner Wrx Engine Question within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hell all, Just got my first Subaru ever, have always owned a Honda, but have been less than satisfied with ...

New Subaru Owner Wrx Engine Question

Hell all,

Just got my first Subaru ever, have always owned a Honda, but have been less than satisfied with there new lineup. I picked up a 2014 wrx hatch at the stealer. My question is while the car warms up and does it's idle thing it seems to sway in the cabin (left to right) just enough to notice. Is this normal and the nature of the motor? I assume it's just the beastly motor under the hood doing it's thing. (There are no cel, and do not seem violent in any manner like a misfire) However, like I said I am new to Subaru so I really have no clue. Thanks for the help in advance to those who can offer guidance.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Does it smooth out with throttle? In my 02 you can feel the idle in the car. Shakes side to side a bit but smooths out with a little throttle. the unequal length headers that give the "boxer rumble" also create a bit of a rough idle.

I Support ClubWRX
    What you describe is not abnormal. My early car does this also.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. Ernest Hemingway
    I lied. I cheated. I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I am an accessory to murder. But the most damning thing of all... I think I can live with it. And if I had to do it all over again - I would. Benjamin Sisko
    DISCLAIMER: Opinions expressed are the author's alone and are inherently worthless.