2002 wrx help!!!

This is a discussion on 2002 wrx help!!! within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi guys, I'm new to this site, and am glad i found this, i have been learning alot from you ...

2002 wrx help!!!

Hi guys, I'm new to this site, and am glad i found this, i have been learning alot from you guys. My problem is that i bought a car for my son which is almost 16. We knew when we bought this car that it had timing problems, so we got the car home we tore the front end of the motor apart it had 2 pulleys blown apart. We replaced them with ones from subaru, aligned the timing correctly, and found out it had no compression.My questions are what an i looking at? I'm no mechanic by no means, i use to be into hotrods before i had a family, so i figured me and my son can learn something new. Any info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks john

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    It's an interference motor. If timing jumps there can be top end damage and/or even bottom. Maybe try a leak down to see if it's "just" valves though there's no way of which I'm aware to exclude more than valves without eyeballing it once it's apart.

People wreck these every day; is there a used motor you could get cheap?
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. Ernest Hemingway
    I lied. I cheated. I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I am an accessory to murder. But the most damning thing of all... I think I can live with it. And if I had to do it all over again - I would. Benjamin Sisko
    DISCLAIMER: Opinions expressed are the author's alone and are inherently worthless.

Timing problems now no compression? My guess would be bent valves =/

Posted from a fone.

thanks for replying guys. how involved is it totake the heads off?

I Support ClubWRX