WRX/ STI v2 96 everyday driver?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on WRX/ STI v2 96 everyday driver? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi so I am new to this forum and I do not currently own a wrx but i am in ...

WRX/ STI v2 96 everyday driver?

Hi so I am new to this forum and I do not currently own a wrx but i am in the market to buy one. I am looking at the WRX or STI 95-97 for up to 8k canadian. I plan to use this a s a daily driver. I do not comute far but I drive about 20000km a year so reliability is a concern. Can anyone tell me about reliability and service costs on these? I heard the boxer engine is a pain to work on and apparently from an ex owner transmission needs to be serviced every 10000k and the engine needs to be lifted to do this. I cannot afford massive service costs as I am a student [not broke, a student ].
    Thanks for any help.
    ryan

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Damn i wish we had those in the states.
    Find a low-mileage one-owner unmodified '04/'05 and you're golden.

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car.
    Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.
    Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
    Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

That's the funniest damned ad I've ever read. If nothing else, go get a drink with that guy and see what exactly happened to it when it went to hell and back twice. I'd personally prefer whichever one had the cleanest mainentance record and least amount of mods.

2011 SWP Sedan

Tuned by Keenan @ All Aspects Motorsports / 322WHP / 330 ft/lbs TQ
    http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/builds...swp-sedan.html

If you're looking for something that is as reliable as you can get for a daily driver, I certainly wouldn't look for a 17 year old used performance car with a lot of miles on the clock...