'06 STI Starter went out after a run?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on '06 STI Starter went out after a run? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys, so i was doing a run from a dig today without a hardlaunch(closed course of course) and after ...

Unhappy '06 STI Starter went out after a run?

Hey guys, so i was doing a run from a dig today without a hardlaunch(closed course of course) and after that run i went to a gas station to stop to shoot the **** with some buddies , (didnt turn off my car that time until arrival of gas station). and when we were getting ready to leave my subby wouldnt turn over, all the cluster lights came on , no CEL. So i decided to bump it and it started up. Im not a expert by any means , my first guess was the starter. When i try to turn over the engine the time and cluster lights would dim. Could it be because the starter is shot and trying to draw power and not doing anything? and also is it more than likely the starter?, mind you the vehicle runs fine after i bumped it, i parked it for now until i can get a diagnosis.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Sounds like a battery issue to me. How old is the battery?
    Life is like riding a bicycle in order to keep your balance you must keep moving.

I Support ClubWRX
    Does it click or make noise when you try to start it?

I've damaged a starter under very severe driving but that model was prone to failure. Yours is not.

Suspect battery, main battery leads, starter connections, starter solenoid; order isn't unlikely either so I'd start at the first.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    Man is a brute.... If you're cruel to him, he respects and fears you. If you're kind to him, he plucks your eyes out. Alexis Zorbas