Common Drivetrain issues??
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Common Drivetrain issues?? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey, I am new to subarus and am in the market for an early to mid 2000's WRX. I live ...

Common Drivetrain issues??

Hey,

I am new to subarus and am in the market for an early to mid 2000's WRX. I live in Michigan and what I am see a lot is that a lot of them are saying nee axles. Is this a common thing to go bad in these? I can remember what the guy said he put in it but, some specific catalytic converter because the stock ones were notorious for falling apart and ruining the turbo?? Also, I heard that the center differential bearing was a common issue.

I guess what I am asking is their any truth to any of these and while out looking for a car what are some things I should be aware of and look for? I currently have a 2012 kia, but I decided I want something fun and no car payment. But whatever I get needs to be reliable and decent gas milage because I drive a lot for work (depending on the week up around 1000 miles every two weeks). Any input would be great. I am kind of just starting to look, but if I get a car I want to try and make sure to find a reliable car.

Thanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Bump any info what so ever

Sammich Makin' Pwincess wrxtreme06's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    Quote Originally Posted by empem90 View Post
    I can remember what the guy said he put in it but, some specific catalytic converter because the stock ones were notorious for falling apart and ruining the turbo??
    this is accurate ---> Attn '02-'05 WRX Owners: The Importance of the Uppipe Mod
    uppipe is the first thing that should be changed on 02-05 wrx's.