Storm of the Brain -- WARNING! LONG post.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Storm of the Brain -- WARNING! LONG post. within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Ok... so this is essentially intended to be a notepad of sorts, to form a plan of attack for this ...

Ok... so this is essentially intended to be a notepad of sorts, to form a plan of attack for this weekend. I will happily consider any and all ideas, so if you have any thoughts, feel free to contribute. I like to think that I have some decent automotive knowledge, but as far as turbocharged and Subaru-specific stuff goes, my technical know-how is much more limited (read: nil).

Anyway, I have a few pressing issues with my new 02 that may or may not all be related. First, and most noticeably, is the terribly erratic idle that occasionally results in a cutoff. This is my primary concern, as I worry about oil pressure dipping and ending up with internal problems. Secondly, I have on two occasions experienced misfire codes (first time all four cylinders, second time two, I want to say #1 and #2). This seems to be accompanied by a slight pop in the exhaust while shifting. Finally, I noticed today on my lunch break that the battery is only holding about 12.0 volts. I don't suspect it's bad, particularly because the alternator is only putting out 13.3-13.4 while under no load.

So, since I discovered the idle issue first, I began to troubleshoot it first. The misfire DTCs became apparent shortly after, which helped to widen my scope a bit while poking around under the hood.

The car has an aftermarket intake and the filter is absolutely filthy. This is a no-brainer, but I have no 2.5" cones at my store, and the filter I ordered hasn't arrived yet. Sadly, I wasn't lucky enough to get the stock cleaner with the car.

*I took the MAF out and cleaned it, even though it was spotless.