My Stock Turbo Intermittently Works...PLEASE HELP

This is a discussion on My Stock Turbo Intermittently Works...PLEASE HELP within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I have a 2003 Subaru WRX and my stock turbo doesn't spool every time I drive it or "need" it. ...

Exclamation My Stock Turbo Intermittently Works...PLEASE HELP

I have a 2003 Subaru WRX and my stock turbo doesn't spool every time I drive it or "need" it. Sometimes the turbo will kick in at about 3500 rpms and other times it doesn't do anything, and even when it's idling. I know this because I can obviously hear the blow off valve when it does spool. Any idea what it could be? I am pretty new to these cars so I don't know much. The other thing is that the clutch is about to go out and I will be getting replaced very soon. When I get the car going and the boost does actually kick in, I lose the clutch at about 4500-5500 rpms usually because it can't hold the extra power. Could it be something to do with that? Maybe some sort of safety switch by an internal computer keeping the turbo from spooling because of the lost in power with that worn down clutch..?? I am not sure. Please help me out!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    What do you mean "even when it's idling"? The turbo cannot spool without the engine being under load. Also, your car shouldn't have a blow off valve, unless someone changed out the stock bypass valve. What has been done to the car? When did this problem start? Also, what boost pressure does it achieve when it seems to be working?