Car jolts from turbo?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Car jolts from turbo? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Is it normal for a car to jolt/shake when the turbo kicks in? My 2003 Wrx does sometimes, but not ...

Car jolts from turbo?

Is it normal for a car to jolt/shake when the turbo kicks in? My 2003 Wrx does sometimes, but not everytime. Right before It kicks in and I pick up speed the car jolts so bad things in my glove box and stuff raddle around. Is this normal? It is my first car with a turbo in it, I'm a newb.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    There is a big change in the g-force when the turbo kicks in. Sometimes I lose my glasses from it. They tend to fly out from the little cubby under my radio.
    GTA:O ClubWRX Crew

My "Build" Thread!

2006 WRX TR
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #1856...ssshhh don't tell anyone!

Okay, my sunglasses actually do that too. So it's normal, that's a relief I was starting to think it was a problem.

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    Before your car goes into-open loop fueling, it needs to meet certain criteria. To test for these criteria, there is a latency period between closed-loop and open-loop fueling. For bugeyes, the latency is longer than the later-generation WRXs. It's tough to illustrate, but when I floor my bugeye, it will attempt to target 14.7:1 AFR for about a half a second before the car enters open-loop fueling with AFRs closer to 11:1. When this transition occurs, the car jolts slightly. This may be what you are experiencing. If you floor the car, let off the throttle, then floor it again, does it still stutter?
    2015 CWP WRX STi ... But how did I get roped back into an EJ motor?!
    Zax's utterly unimaginably stock 2015 STi build thread
    Zax's Shaggin' Wagon Build Thread Now tuned for 99% pure Unicorn Jizz!