Need help with headlights

This is a discussion on Need help with headlights within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi guys, So I just bought a 2002 WRX recently, and I am new here. I need some help with ...

Hi guys,

So I just bought a 2002 WRX recently, and I am new here. I need some help with some headlight issues.

So here are the symptoms:

1. Headlights stays on even when switched off.
    2. headlights gets a little brighter when switched is turned on
    3. Headlights turn off when e-brake is on.
    4. Fog lights is never on.
    5. Headlights will not turn on when switched on while car engine is off and key is in ignition.

Not sure what's going on here, as i am very new to WRX. I read up some stuff and it may be a bypass thing that the previous owner may have done? If so, how can i correct it?

Any help would be wonderful, please, please, please.. thank you!!

-jason
    Last edited by domokun; 10-03-2012 at 08:17 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Good news, everyone! xxxxxxxAnub1s's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    All sounds like normal DRL behavior to me. Addressing #3, if you switch the headlights on with the switch and pull up the e-brake they should not turn off. But if the switch is turned to off and they go off when you pull up the e-brake, your DRL's are working as they should.

The only thing that seems off is the fog lights, but those turn on when you push the button to the left of the steering wheel (assuming these are factory installed).
    Cody
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #727 N.E.R.D #255.255.255.0

Your nighttime volunteer of near-useless information.
    Good news, everyone!

Admiral Ackbar the 1st mycologist's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    Yup, exactly.
    "From a little spark may burst a mighty flame." - Dante
    "The stitch is lost unless the thread is knotted." - Italian proverb

I Support ClubWRX