Subaru WRX Forum banner

Fuel Smell from the exhaust

19K views 34 replies 8 participants last post by  teflon_jones 
#1 ·
Hi... I'm brand new to the forum and brand new to Subaru as well. I recently got a used 2004 Impreza WRX in Texas, moved to Colorado the day of purchase (long story...), and am currently experiencing a very strong fuel smell from the exhaust, and fuel economy is suffering. I do not smell any fuel in the engine area. No parts have been changed, and no mods since purchase. I am brand new to the "mods" concept.

It also seems that the car is a bit sluggish on initial acceleration.

MODS -- I honestly do not know. I wasn't told of any engine modifications, but the car does have a scoop on the hood. I can post a pic of the engine area later this morning if that would help.

GAS -- Sorry to say that finances don't allow more than Regular Unleaded (87 Octane I believe?)

MILES -- 78000

I haven't done anything yet to try to fix this problem, however, I would prefer to work on it myself if there are some general things I can try before taking it in. I enjoy working on my Jeep, but I'm no auto mechanic. I can follow instructions, though! Is there any chance the change in altitude has anything to do with this? And if so... would it have been immediate or could it have taken some time to develop?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice!!
Tracy

See less See more
#2 ·
Whoa whoa whoa....

First stop using 87 octane. It costs like $2 more to run 93 octane and these motors need it. You're asking for problems if you continue running 87 octane and it is probably sluggish because of this. You probably have mad knock.

#3 ·
+80 bajillion. i know times are tough but if you honestly cant afford the extra few dollars you must sell your car and buy one that runs regular or find another means of transportation. we cannot use 87 octane