2008 Subaru Impreza WRX - Vibration / Rear Diff? Help!

This is a discussion on 2008 Subaru Impreza WRX - Vibration / Rear Diff? Help! within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi Everyone, Im very new to the Subaru world and I love it. I recently purchased a 2008 Subaru Impreza ...

2008 Subaru Impreza WRX - Vibration / Rear Diff? Help!

Hi Everyone,

Im very new to the Subaru world and I love it.

I recently purchased a 2008 Subaru Impreza WRX that had only 29,000 miles on it. I have put 1000 miles on it and just the other day my fiance was driving on the highway at about 65 miles an hour and the car started vibrating almost as if there was a flat tire. He pulled over and the car was fine. He started again and the car did it a couple more times then nothing. He arrived to pick me up and let he car cool down for 1 minute. When I was walking towards the car it smelled like clutch. He swore to me that he did not beat on it. When I was in the car and he started pulling away, he went into 2nd gear the car started vibrating, he went into 3rd it kept vibrating. I got nervous because I've been driving it for weeks and it never did that. When we reached our destination, I smelled that same smell but coming from the rear and this time it was more of a metal burning smell

I was wondering if anyone knew what this was?.

I was told that the WRX still being so young is not meant to be beated on. But my fiance swears he did not beat on it.

I've been driving it and since Im still learning manual, Im not really going fast, Im just driving normal.

Apparently I was told to drive it carefully untill the rear diff fluid breaks in. Is this true? Or should I just let subaru warranty deal with it?

Can anyone help?

Thanks! Hope to hear from you soon!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Aren't you past the new car 3 year/36k mile warranty period?