Does weather really make this much of a difference in performance?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

This is a discussion on Does weather really make this much of a difference in performance? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Howdy. Disclaimer: my new '12 DGM WRX Hatchback is is my first turbo car ever, and as I only have ...

Question Does weather really make this much of a difference in performance?

Howdy. Disclaimer: my new '12 DGM WRX Hatchback is is my first turbo car ever, and as I only have about 1,500 miles on it I'm still learning how to really drive it well. Make no mistake: I absolutely love this car. But I've noticed that the car seems to be... well... inconsistent. I haven't quite narrowed down the behavior all the way yet, but there are times where it feels like a 12 second car and times where it feels more like a 15 second car. And I *think* I'm driving it the same.

Example: a week or two ago, I rolled away from a stop sign and floored it after the clutch was engaged (after making sure absolutely no cars were even in viewing range, so don't flame me). When the turbo kicked in around 3k it continued to slam my head into the headrest all the way through until I shifted into 2nd, where it continued to do the same thing. But last night I did the same thing, at the same place, and it didn't feel as strong; it almost seemed to flatten out around 5,800 RPM.

The only thing I can figure is that it was 90 degrees outside yesterday when I did it, and a week or two ago it was undoubtedly cooler outside by probably 20 degrees. This isn't the only example of this, and the performance hasn't been on a decline, either; I might find it crazy fast today on the way home again, for example.

Does the weather really make this much of a difference? Or does my butt dyno need to be calibrated?