2000 Bugeye will crank but not start, please help
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on 2000 Bugeye will crank but not start, please help within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi guys I'm a noob from Australia and thought id ask for your wisdom. Car: 2000 WRX (bugeye) KMs: 100,000kms ...

2000 Bugeye will crank but not start, please help

Hi guys I'm a noob from Australia and thought id ask for your wisdom.

Car: 2000 WRX (bugeye)
    KMs: 100,000kms (recently had 100,000 service)
    Condition: Full service History

Over the past few days it has been increasingly difficult to start, it started with two attempts to start but has now gone to about 10 or so attempts. I have been pumping the accelerator (gas pedal) and sometimes it starts and sometimes it won't.

But now it just won't kick over, it will crank but not start.

There are NO dashboard indicators and the battery seems to be fully charged.

Once I finally got it to start today there was smoke coming from around the Turbo housing or maybe below it? The temp gauge is showing normal and driving conditions are normal, the car is boosting and operating normally when driving?

Oil level is ok, coolant level is ok.

The smoke doesnt smell bad?

During idle the car is making chirping noises from the engine bay in front of the drivers side (Right hand Drive, Australian) which sound like they are coming from the belts? Which are all new due to the 100,000km Service 1000kms ago.

Any idea would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    Last edited by 2000Bugeye; 05-06-2012 at 03:33 AM. Reason: spelling

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Not enough information? Or too difficult?

Good news, everyone! xxxxxxxAnub1s's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    It's late here stateside.

Have you checked for the typical things? Is it getting fuel at the proper rate? Does it have spark?