oil/raw gas smell... help!

This is a discussion on oil/raw gas smell... help! within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys .. got a few questions.. im a new subby owner and this is my first turbo car.. I ...

oil/raw gas smell... help!

Hey guys .. got a few questions.. im a new subby owner and this is my first turbo car.. I own a 2002 WRX.. to start off the car barely ran when I first bought it.. engine seemed fine but turbo was non existent.. I got it diagnosed at the dealer and it turned out the up pipe was clogged thus not giving the turbo what it needed.. I got that fixed and it runs like a bat out of hell.. but a week or two ago I noticed a raw gas smell especially during idle and further investigation revealed a possible small leak.. not sure how to describe where I am a newbie to all of this.. but I also noticed small amounts of smoke coming from the scoop usually during a cold morning or after the car has set for a while.. I popped the hood when I got home and small amounts of smoke were coming from the wastegate arm.. is this a seal problem? My car eats oil like it is its job..are these cars hard to get a oil read on? My dipstick is virtually dry after a fresh oil change.. I never can tell where the oil level is at..

The guy before me had a bov that was so ****ty I could almost wiggle it off.. I recently went to a 50/50 recirculation bypass valve.. I just ordered a new uppipe thinking maybe it was the cat .. so my question is when I get my up pipe should I go ahead and replace the seals? My car has 128k miles .. should I try a thicker oil? My boost guage reads 13.8 normal and sometimes spikes to 14.5 ..
    Last edited by Rexxy2Sexxy; 01-08-2012 at 01:37 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements