Check Engline Light: Too Lean

This is a discussion on Check Engline Light: Too Lean within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Heys guys hows it going? I own a 05 WRX Premium that is at 66k miles and the only mod ...

Check Engline Light: Too Lean

Heys guys hows it going? I own a 05 WRX Premium that is at 66k miles and the only mod is a Borla Catback exhaust. My CEL light came on recently and the code at Autozone read as "Too Lean". Took it to the subaru service station and they said the previous owner didn't change/clean the Air Filter which led to gunk building up. So they replaced the air filter (something I could have done myself but Im a noob to the car game still) and cleaned out the build up. A week the later the CEL comes on AGAIN and the same code is reading. Any tips? I mean the CEL as gone, but now its back. I have the receipt so Im going to take it back to them, but Im out of town right now. Dont like driving around with my CEL light on. Also what damage could this possibly cause? Please dont flame, I just need help. Thanks bros.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    A CEL is only meaningful with an actual code. Yours sounds like PO171, bank 1 lean. There is only 1 bank. Clean the air filter, the intake housing for the filter, and very importantly the MAF. Not just the temp probe that's visible on the MAF unit, but the actual MAF probe itself, that is down the shaft. Use actual MAF cleaner, and treat it like a delicate piece of electronics, not a car part.

That should do it, provided you do have a PO171 and do not have an intake leak or boost leak, or a failure of the reference line to the fuel pressure regulator (and you likely do not have these from what you've said).

Hope this helps.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. Ernest Hemingway