Turbo Not Turning boosting.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Turbo Not Turning boosting. within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I bought a 2006 wrx and I noticed that you can't hear the turbo,so i looked at the wastegate actuator ...

Turbo Not Turning boosting.

I bought a 2006 wrx and I noticed that you can't hear the turbo,so i looked at the wastegate actuator and it wasnt moving when gas is presses. I hooked up pressure to it and it moved the actuator. Even manually moving it when car is being revved still doesnt spool up the turbo (i am kind of new to turbos). Any ideas what to check or what could be wrong? Thank you in advance

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

ClubWRX.net Vendor adam@kronosperformance's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    Do you have a boost gauge?
    ClubWRX.net's #1 Vendor! www.kronosperformance.com sales@kronosperformance.com Call/Text 732-742-8837 We Offer a Military Discount
    Our Facebook | Our Twitter | Our Instagram | Our Pinterest
    Our featured brands
    RALLY ARMOR | BC RACING | PERRIN | MISHIMOTO | GRIMMSPEED

Pull the turbo (or just pop off the DP) and see if there is any shaft play. Does the wheel spin by hand? Is it hard to spin? Should be able to move freely.
    The Hawk-Eye Alliance #90|The Blobeye Syndicate #0|The Stink-Eye Mob #0|N.E.R.D. Founding Member & #3
    2012 Lightning Red WRX Sedan
    Stock...for now Soon to be OpenSource tuned by: Mattypants @ WTF Tuning

Quote Originally Posted by Mikie13 View Post
    Pull the turbo (or just pop off the DP) and see if there is any shaft play. Does the wheel spin by hand? Is it hard to spin? Should be able to move freely.

I just took it off and it seems to spin freely and easy. Here's some pics of it, in case that helps. what could cause the waste gate to not open.

Quote Originally Posted by KronosPerformance View Post