Raw fuel smell

This is a discussion on Raw fuel smell within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So basically I started smelling raw fuel inside the car one morning. I figured maybe I overfilled it when I ...

Raw fuel smell

So basically I started smelling raw fuel inside the car one morning. I figured maybe I overfilled it when I got gas last. Kinda brushed it off. Now I'm smelling it again. While idling and while driving (low speeds). Its coming, or smells like its coming, from in front of the turbo. I see fuel lines coming in on the drivers side and then going under the throttlebody. Maybe a fuel unit on the passenger side as well (i'm new to suburu) Thinking maybe a fuel injector? Wondering if anyone had any ideas. Or maybe anybody had this happen to you.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

What year is your car?

This is a very common issue in older Subies...
    Scott
    Past Subies - '11 STI Limited stage 1+ and '04 STi stage 2+
    '13 Wrangler Rubicon - custom front bumper w/12k lb winch & off-road lights, skid plates, diff guards, etc.
    '04 Porsche 911 Turbo GT2 clone 600 HP/TQ
    '77 F-150 heavily modded for off-roading

I Support ClubWRX
    Subaru recalled some older models for this issue
    2005 WRX STi (Mods | Virtual Dyno)

Resident Tuner @ WTF Tuning, LLC

"Never trust anything that bleeds for a week and lives ..."

UNYSOC

Its an 02 wrx wagon. What was the recall for and what year?

Subaru has initiated a voluntary regional recall to replace specific engine fuel lines and hoses
    on approximately 5,724 2002 and 2003MY Impreza WRX models registered in 16 “cold weather” states located in NOAA Climate Zone 1.

The affected states are:
    Alaska, Colorado, Iowa, Idaho, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York,
    South Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.