02 wrx rhythmic grinding sound! help please!

This is a discussion on 02 wrx rhythmic grinding sound! help please! within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; sooo basically here is my situation. i bought this car 5 days ago and it just now decides to make ...

02 wrx rhythmic grinding sound! help please!

sooo basically here is my situation.
    i bought this car 5 days ago and it just now decides to make some noise.

80k bone stock.

whats happens is on idle a wierd rythmic grinding noise like a rusty bearing is coming from the front passenger side of the engine bay. the sound and speed of the noise increases and decreases with the throttle not wheel speed. it doesnt affect driveability, but i am new to these cars and this sounds like it can elevate to a more serious issue. it comes and goes, but is usually on a cold start. i commute from tahoe to sac and it rarely does it in sac, but everytime it sits in tahoe it will surely make the sound when i start it up in the morning, and continue on for the next fifteen minutes of driving or so, and sometimes stay on for longer. any help would be much appreciated!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Belt, roller, or tensioner. If the belts are not new and/or are not authentic, replace them with authentic Subaru belts. Check the pulleys while the belts are off.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. Ernest Hemingway
    I lied. I cheated. I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I am an accessory to murder. But the most damning thing of all... I think I can live with it. And if I had to do it all over again - I would. Benjamin Sisko
    DISCLAIMER: Opinions expressed are the author's alone and are inherently worthless.