Losing boost...help?!?

This is a discussion on Losing boost...help?!? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey everyone, I tried finding a similar post on here but I'm new to this forum business so I'm still ...

Red face Losing boost...help?!?

Hey everyone, I tried finding a similar post on here but I'm new to this forum business so I'm still learning. Anyway, here's the problem.

My 02wrx is peaking at approx .05MPa or 7.25 pounds of boost...I don't know why. it is completely stock except for an injen cold air intake (previous owner installed). The boost gauge shows no problems in reaching 7.25, it isn't slow in peaking so i doubt it's a vacuum leak...but it stops dead there in any gear, at any rpm. Here's the catch...my boost used to be running solid, no problems whatsoever. A few weeks ago, it started acting up, it'd run full boost or decide on its own that 7.25 was enough...on several occassions, on long drives it would not function past the 7.25, however after shutting off my car and allowing it to sit for a while showed that upon starting again, that it would run full boost?... It makes no sense to me. Again, it's almost completely stock, it has never been tuned. I know the timing belt and water pump will be replaced this week or next week, as it just hit 100k miles, could this be related somehow? I dont hear any unusual noises when idling...i start hearing the hissing of the turbo when the guage creeps to 0.0 MPa, but never earlier...any suggestions on tests I can run to find a source of the problem? I read perhaps my boost solenoid could be bad, but I'm unfamiliar with how exactly turbochargers operate with the wastegate, solenoid, etc....I'm trying to read up on them to perhaps clue myself in and get *some insight...any help would be greatly appreciated. I am just trying to avoid the dealer as I'm pretty tight on budget

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net