Backlash question... and vibration @ 65...
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Backlash question... and vibration @ 65... within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi fellas, im new to the subaru world and was wondering if anyone had any input on my cars issues. ...

Backlash question... and vibration @ 65...

Hi fellas, im new to the subaru world and was wondering if anyone had any input on my cars issues.
    2002 wrx 180,xxx miles (EVERY maintenance done @ dealer, ridiculous i know!) Bought it off a friend for 4k a few months ago only because he did such a great job with the car care!
    Anywho, I have a LOT of back lash or slack in the drivetrain... I have heard that this can be an inherit prob with that many miles... but are there any other things that could go wrong that causes this? It Shifts PERFECT every time and shifting is tight, (with the 1st gear expected slow shift need...) I am mechanically inclined, which is why im concered about the amount of backlash when driving. Occurs in every gear. I have checked all mounts and bushings. All were good except CAB's.
    Brings me to my next Q. I get a really BAD shake/vibe @ 60 and dissapears @ 70... Could this be my bad CAB? Or could it relate to the backlash.
    ANY info would be much appreciated. I feel i need to be pointed in the right direction here since im still learning this car. Thanks again!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

My '02 has 150,000 miles and also has slack but not as bad as it sounds like in yours. Do you get a grinding/whining sound when decelerating in gear? I'm not familiar with the term "CAB"...what does that stand for?

I was just in Phoenix for 7 days last week. I left and it was 105 degrees and back in Seattle now it's rainy and 60 degrees out. I miss it already. Where abouts are you located? I was really suprised how few Subarus are down there