Boost surge/BCS
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

This is a discussion on Boost surge/BCS within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; First, I've probably read every thread on the internet related to boost surging and the boost control solenoid. Second, I'm ...

Boost surge/BCS

First, I've probably read every thread on the internet related to boost surging and the boost control solenoid. Second, I'm new to more "advanced" car tinkering and I have only had my Subaru for about 2 weeks.

I am having consistent boost surge in gears 3,4,5. The turbo will pull hard, let off, pull hard, let off. This happens from about 3500rpm to whenever I decide to shift or slow the hell down.

I have NO mods. I have NO boost gauge.

The previous owner swears it has to do with the BCS, so today I cleaned it out with MAF cleaner. While in there I noticed that the line coming out of the BCS and into the T fitting had a few cracks at the junction between it and the T fitting. I will attach pictures of that. So, I reinstalled the BCS and put some ****ty (but should have been airtight) tape around the cracks on the vacuum line (if that is the correct term). Needless to say, after taking the car out I didn't notice any improvement in the problem.

So, I had someone turn my key while I listened for the BCS to click. I'm not sure if I was supposed to listen when the key was being turned to accessory mode or when the car was actually turning over. When turned to accessory mode I heard a click close by, but I don't think it was from the BCS. When the car was turned over it was too gd loud to notice a small click from a small part - at least it was for me.

My plan is to buy a used BCS and swap it in the see if that fixes the problem.

Would an admittedly ****ty tape job over the vacuum line be enough to prevent leakage at such high pressure? I will replace the line asap, but I didn't have the time tonight.