P0244 - Fuel Cut - Time for AccessPORT?

This is a discussion on P0244 - Fuel Cut - Time for AccessPORT? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Ok, this is a second thread for my problem, only because the problem has been narrowed down significantly since the ...

P0244 - Fuel Cut - Time for AccessPORT?

Ok, this is a second thread for my problem, only because the problem has been narrowed down significantly since the start of my last thread, thanks to Donkey and others.

I just bought my 2004 WRX about 5 days ago, so I don't know much about it. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I'm not car stupid either. The only performance mod that I know of (or that the person that sold it knows of) done to the car is a performance exhaust, which when I look at from bending over (haven't put it on my lift yet) is a catless TBE.

When in 4th or 5th gear and floored, the car accelerates like it should for a second, then I get the fuel cut and CEL light P0244 (wastegate malfunction). Other than that, in normal driving, it works great. The previous owner said they didn't experience this, but as a female (IM NOT SEXIST) school teacher I don't really see her racing on the back roads.

I've done my research, and it seems like it's a boost creep (though I don't have a gauge yet), would a Cobb stage 2 map fix this? Is there a way to get out of this cheaper than $600? Is it safe to drive the car like this until I get the money for an AP?

Before realizing this was the right route, I spent $300 at subaru, and they say the entire turbo may be bad, but I disagree as it works great until highway speeds.

Side question, does anyone know of any tuning shops in Maine?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements