Subaru WRX Forum banner

2004 WRX Power Loss? Please help...

6K views 18 replies 5 participants last post by  Sh4d0w 
#1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and I apologize imf this question has already been answered, but I'm kinda stressed out about my new wrx.

I'm not a mechanic by any means, so please take it easy on me : /

I just purchased a wrx that I thought was in excellent shape off of a school teacher hours away from my home, on the drive home I noticed that it ran excellent, however when it was really stepped on at highway speeds the engine would almost give out for a second, and then pick back up to where it was, and kept repeating the process until I let off the gas. The first time it did the the check engine light also came on, and has been on since.

The car does not do this unless it's put under strain (not like redlining strain) and runs great for normal driving situations.

Could this be caused by the use of 87 octane fuel? Or is it a bad fuel pump or something along those lines?

I do know that the previous owner used 87 octane mores than premium, but hardly drove the car, and when they did usually didn't drive it over 3k.

What steps should i take? I added octane boost to the engine, as well as fuel injector cleaner, and about a quarter of a tank of 91 octane gas, but it doesn't seem to be helping any, and I'm down to about a quarter of a tank left.

If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know, I'd like to be reassured my new car isn't completely screwed...

See less See more
#2 ·
You're describing what could be severe misfire issues, or more likely boost oscillation, which can be caused by a number of things.

Was the car ever modified? If so, what was done to it?