cold weather clutch slippage
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on cold weather clutch slippage within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I'll be the first to admit I haven't been all to nice on the clutch - learning manual on the ...

cold weather clutch slippage

I'll be the first to admit I haven't been all to nice on the clutch - learning manual on the car hasn't helped (and I'm still learning to rev-match for downshifts). However, the clutch has been alright to me - I caught it slipping once in the middle of a particularly rough bit of driving, but it caught right back up.

Then yesterday, I drove it to school (it was in the 30's out) after letting it warm up for several minutes. The whole way, I was getting problems every time I was accelerating with the clutch slipping. By the end, I was noticing it less, as I was driving extra-carefully (barely accelerating, rev-matching all my downshifts, etc.), but it still was there.

I drive it home, when it's more like 50's-60's, let it warm up about the same amount of time, and it's fine the whole way - even through I was ragging on it pretty hard.

That was the first time I've driven my car at quite that cold out. What would cause that clutch slippage when it's cold out?
    My big thread: The Used WRX Buying Checklist - Please Contribute!

My current car: 2002 WRB WRX Wagon.
    Mods: GM BCS, Carberry SD rom, uppipe, AEM UEGO, Klunk Killer, F+R shifter bushings, head unit

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    I checked the temperature you mentioned, it's roughly -1 deg. Cold, but not unreasonably cold. You should not have had a problem.