Strange noise when releasing clutch on 2011

This is a discussion on Strange noise when releasing clutch on 2011 within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey folks, I'm new to subaru with my new 2011 WRX, so forgive me if this is a common problem ...

Strange noise when releasing clutch on 2011

Hey folks, I'm new to subaru with my new 2011 WRX, so forgive me if this is a common problem or something that has been addressed elsewhere before.

When my 2011 WRX has been sitting (i.e. 9 hours in the parking lot at work, or overnight in front of my house) I am encountering a problem I've never experienced before.

I start the car, put it in first, and start to pull away. As I'm rolling and just as I fully release the clutch in 1st, the car makes a sound that could maybe be best described as a light "bang"...almost a sound like someone was lightly hitting a thick steel beam with a hammer, kind of like a driveline shock but without any nasty vibration or anything.

This occurs about 75% of the time after the car has sat for a few hours regardless of how gently I let out the clutch or use the accelerator...it never occurs during normal driving...has anyone else experienced something like this or has an idea of what it can be?

I was thinking maybe it could be the hill start assist disengaging...but I haven't heard the same sound when starting on a hill in traffic during normal driving, or any other time during normal driving...

any opinions or suggestions are appreciated.
    ~ADAM
    70 El Camino SS clone
    2011 WRX Sedan in Satin White Cobb Stage 1+AEM Cold Air Intake
    Click here for my Progress Thread
    Installing HellaSupertones? Click here.
    N.E.R.D. #4
    Devout Practicalist

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements