No Boost! Can anyone help?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on No Boost! Can anyone help? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the turbocharged world and it would be greatly appreciated if you guys could help ...

No Boost! Can anyone help?

Hey guys,
    I'm pretty new to the turbocharged world and it would be greatly appreciated if you guys could help me out. I have a 2002 wrx with a motor from a 2004 wrx. It has roughly 50,000 miles on it.
    My problem is that I have no boost, other than just wastegate pressure (about 7-8 psi) I think the car is in some sort of safe mode, as when I reset the computer it has normal boost (though has issues running well under full acceleration) There are no codes or CELs...I've ran it multiple times. After resetting the ECU, the car will run smooth under normal driving. However, if I get on the gas, at about 4000rpm the car stumbles a bit, seems to lag, then emits a small backfire. After that it feels like the powers back and it goes to normal boost range. However, after driving for awhile, the car seems to go in this "safe mode." Its incredibly irritating.
    This weekend I plan on trying to change the spark plugs and see if that changes anything, but I have my doubts. Has anyone ever experienced anything like this? Any ideas, suggestions. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

what kinds of mods, tuning are present in the vehicle?

it may be an issue where the engine management computer is retarding () the ignition timing b/c of issues w fuel/air ratio?

thats my best guess w/out knowing what kind of mods you have
    Stink-eye Mob #814004
    2010 WRX Limited Hatch - spt short throw...for now

Quote Originally Posted by dbya rx View Post
    what kinds of mods, tuning are present in the vehicle?