Similar topics probably floating around, but when I needed I can't find what I was looking for at our board.
I were preparing to do first WRX coolant replacement on my own (I did many other car though through the years, so not a beginner here), just wanted to read the correct procedure for this particular car.
Here what I did past weekend and it works perfect for me, in case some one looking to do it without extra complication.
But first:
Disclaimer:
When in doubt, have a qualified technician or maintenance shop perform your engine coolant change.

Ok, now we go:

Drive up on ramps (Sears product), secure the car and remove engine undercover.
Pull car back on the driveway (off ramps in order to drain more old coolant being on straight surface instead of incline).
Place wide pan under drain valve location.
Under the hood:
Remove black plastic air intake.
Move power steering reservoir away, without disconnecting, just slide of the clip.
Now you have more space to open drain valve. Despite many complaining about this thing not opening easy, I have had no problem, did it with my fingers only.
Open drain valve, make sure it stays in place, do not need to remove it completely, just make sure you have sufficient flow.
Open filler tank, it will allow better, stronger flow, therefore faster drain old stuff.
I then remove plastic coolant reservoir and flashed with distilled water. Placed back.
It took around 30-40 min for coolant stop drips.
Next, tighten drain valve back, do not overdue.
I use Subaru Long Life coolant (undiluted), mixed 50/50 with distilled water. I prepare 2 gal total along with coolant conditioner (got to shake this lil thingy hard).
Open radiator cap (I know many against this, but works perfect for me, as it did on other cars, made process fast as well).
I first fill the rad, until it full, then close and never open again during the procedure.
Next I pour conditioner, following by the coolant to the filler tank, until it full.