04 STI engine trouble

This is a discussion on 04 STI engine trouble within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hello everyone I am very new to the STI community and seeking some help. I have recently begun the task ...

04 STI engine trouble

Hello everyone I am very new to the STI community and seeking some help. I have recently begun the task of fixing up a 2004 STI for a family member. The car has been siting in a garage the past three years due to an engine issue that never got fixed. It was brought to the dealer a while ago and was diagnosed with a knocking rod or spun bearing. A full tear down would be required to see the real problem. 5k estimate

My question is how much should this cost? My mission is to sell the car. I just finished replacing a few interior parts and fixed the exterior up a bit. I do not know if I should sell the car as is for someone who is going to replace the parts with forged internals anyways or fix the engine in hopes that someone buys it.

The only thing I did so far was an oil change
    and I could not find any shavings

Here is a link to a youtube clip of the engine running
    for a few seconds.

YouTube - STI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gtU6GZnRdg

thanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    From YouTube I cannot tell whether it's a rod or even simply a t-belt tensioner, but that's just how video sound is.

Assuming the dealer was right, spend a couple grand and either replace the motor with a used running motor or replace the short block. The former is probably easier.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. Ernest Hemingway