question

This is a discussion on question within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; im new to WRXs' and im looking to buy a 04 wrx, its got a hks exhaust and a intake. ...

question

im new to WRXs' and im looking to buy a 04 wrx, its got a hks exhaust and a intake. inside its got a boost guage and a air/fuel guage. when i test drove it, when i punched it the a/f guage went all the way to rich. but just crusin its fine. i talked to one of my buddys and he said it might have been tuned wrong and someone else said its just because im punchin it and its readin that imdumpin more oil/gas into the motor. just wanted your guys opinions on this, lioke i said im new to these cars.

thanks
    mike

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

another thing i noticed is that it was runnin maybe 6-7 psi boost. i know thats low, i heard it should be runninat least 10-12 psi with pipe and intake

Good news, everyone! xxxxxxxAnub1s's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    Stock boost for an 04 WRX is 13.7 psi. That air fuel guage is useless if its not hooked up to a wideband o2 sensor, so if its one of those flashy light dealies, you're doing yourself a disservice by paying attention to it.

If the car has a turbo back exhaust it needs to be retuned if it hasn't been already.
    Cody
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #727 N.E.R.D #255.255.255.0

Your nighttime volunteer of near-useless information.
    Good news, everyone!

Quote Originally Posted by Anub1s View Post
    Stock boost for an 04 WRX is 13.7 psi. That air fuel guage is useless if its not hooked up to a wideband o2 sensor, so if its one of those flashy light dealies, you're doing yourself a disservice by paying attention to it.

If the car has a turbo back exhaust it needs to be retuned if it hasn't been already.