Up-Pipe cat destroying turbo?

This is a discussion on Up-Pipe cat destroying turbo? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I read one topic about an up-pipe cat coming apart and destroying the turbocharger? I'm VERY new to turbocharged motors ...

Question Up-Pipe cat destroying turbo?

I read one topic about an up-pipe cat coming apart and destroying the turbocharger? I'm VERY new to turbocharged motors and have no idea what an "up-pipe" is. Perhaps an engine bay shot pointing out/highlighting what it is would be very helpful.

I'm also wondering what year models this affected and if there was a recall issued. I'm buying a 2005 WRX Wagon this weekend with 65K miles. They say the issue needs to be corrected between 50K and 70K (which is about when it happened to the poster's friend, I think?).

Anyway... more info would be great!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Sammich Makin' Pwincess wrxtreme06's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    1) this was an issue with any 02-05 wrx's. the uppipe had a catalytic converter in it that would potentially grenade into the turbo. the issue was fixed on 06+ models in which the uppipes have been made catless.

2) the uppipe can be seen in this diagram coming from the turbo

i dont know if this is the thread you read, if not take a read through:
    Attn '02-'05 WRX Owners: The Importance of the Uppipe Mod

desiree
    your friendly, neighborhood subaru girl
    abbigale : 06 impreza wrx tr: cobb stage II
    hawkeye alliance #11:11//
    wingl3ss @ll!ance #17 // lvl 80 N.E.R.D.

I Support ClubWRX
    Quote Originally Posted by SPDSKTR View Post
    I'm also wondering what year models this affected
    All 2.0L turbo cars.

and if there was a recall issued.
    No.

They say the issue needs to be corrected between 50K and 70K (which is about when it happened to the poster's friend, I think?).