PO171 Code
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on PO171 Code within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I have an 02 WRX and Check Engine Light is on. Code P0171 is showing up and I have already ...

PO171 Code

I have an 02 WRX and Check Engine Light is on. Code P0171 is showing up and I have already cleaned the Sensor on my Intake. Anyone have any ideas as to what this could be?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

here is a thread hope this helps.
    P0171 Engine Code - NASIOC

Mods?

Correct me if I'm wrong but that's a system too lean code. Check for vacuum leaks, fuel pressure regulator hose, and if you have a BOV it'll throw that code if it's not tuned for it. Good luck!
    Hawk-eye Alliance #156

ok thanks. Ya this is my first subie and first car really worth tuning so I am a little new to it. I do have a BOV. I have noticed that when shifting gears around 3500 RPM the RPM's will continue to rise for a sec. Also the BOV is not as responsive as it used to be. Could this all be linked together?

same here this is my first tunable car. its possible if the bov is tuned wrong. what kind do you have depending on what you have you could just turn the top or replace a spring, but you can just google what bov you have and find what you need to do pretty easy.

ya I took it to subaru dealership and they said my BOV is leaking air into my system causing the p0171 code. I have a GFB BOV on it right now. I would love to replace the spring, but its looking like I may need to replace it. Any suggestions on what BOV i should get? Should I stay with the Go Fast Bit? Or move on to one like Greddy or something?

I Support ClubWRX
    Why not use the correct part from Subaru? It will not generate an intake leak.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ