boost surges builds to 17 and drops to 7 and back
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on boost surges builds to 17 and drops to 7 and back within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I am a wrx noob. I purchased a 2002 wrx wagon last week. It was a trade in and has ...

boost surges builds to 17 and drops to 7 and back

I am a wrx noob. I purchased a 2002 wrx wagon last week. It was a trade in and has a turbo back exhaust, and a new td04l turbo. I need to know where to start troubleshooting. The turbo just continually surges 7-17-7psi while getting on it in 4th or 5th. Any advice on what to adjust?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

not getting any feedback so going to try to adjust the wastegate arm longer one turn at a time and see what it does.

i had a problem with my 99 wrx surging from 10psi to 15psi then back. when i upgraded to the v5 sti intercooler i have on it now the surge went away my only guess was that my standard intercooler was leaking some where or something along those lines. i would check all the bolts etc and make sure they are not loose. once my bov adapter also had a loose bolt which made the turbo whine extremely loud sounded goos but made the boost surge aswell. hope this helps a lil.
    1999 WRX Wagon
    STI bits

Hopefully someone will chime in... I just lengthened the wastegate arm one full turn. My surging is still identical except now it surges up to 14psi and down to 5 psi and back. My turbo control is completely factory. I don't think I have a vacume leak. at Idle i read 15psi. Before I lengthened the wastegate arm it was steady at 20 psi. (the gauge is tapped of the recirc valve vacume line.) Please help.

Thanks PHBTMA, when I get more time, I may take the intercooler off and put it back on after checking all the connections and hoses.

Good news, everyone! xxxxxxxAnub1s's Avatar