Mixing tires.... oh my....

This is a discussion on Mixing tires.... oh my.... within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; OK so I just bought the car about 2 months ago. So yes I'm a newb and I've just been ...

Angry Mixing tires.... oh my....

OK so I just bought the car about 2 months ago. So yes I'm a newb and I've just been reading some threads about mixing tires.

When I bought the car, the front tires were worn to hell. But were some Yokos. There was also 1 other Yoko on the back. The previous guy told me he had a recent flat and hence there is an odd tire on the back left...

Since then to pass my inspection I had to replace the front tires. Tried to find some Yokos that matched the other one on the back, but the guy at Discount Tire couldn't even find that model any more. So I ended up getting a diferent set of Yokos. I didn't think much of it, at least the front had matching tires. (sorry i'm used to front wheel drive cars, so I my thinking is not the best...)

The back tires are not worn out. If the size of the tires match will it matter? I keep reading that this can wreck your difs. But don't tires wear at diferent rates any ways?

How can I check to see if I've done any damage?

thanks,

DorBink

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Because Subaru is full time AWD I suggest you change all 4 tires
    instead of only 2. It may damage the differential for long term, better be safe than sorry. Fixing the differential would cost more than 2 new tires... Just my 2 cents
    2002 WRBlue WRX , 2003 Blue Murano