PROBLEMS with my Suby Wagon

This is a discussion on PROBLEMS with my Suby Wagon within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I am a NEWB to the subaru forums But... one love = suby wrx I recently came across a strange ...

Angry PROBLEMS with my Suby Wagon

I am a NEWB to the subaru forums But...
    one love = suby wrx
    I recently came across a strange problem with my 2002 Subaru WRX. My car is completely stock aside from an upgraded sound system (2 JL audio Subs and Audiotech amp)

The problem: I was driving and came across a funny plastic burning smell and noticed my car was starting to drive somewhat weird. Smell went away but my car feels sluggish, like something is either wrong with TURBO or clutch...
    What does slipping clutch smell like? or burnt out clutch??
    My sister drove this car before me and I am not sure how badly she rode the clutch but I consider myself a really good manual driver..
    As well as the car feeling sluggish I began to notice strange dips in my turbo gauge...
    Is something wrong with the turbo or is it my clutch??

Here some idle stats:
    Idle RPMs = 1500
    Turbo reads = -0.065 (lower than -0.05)
    Dips to almost -.07 with slight acceleration/pressing on gas

Either I am paranoid or something is different with these readings... I feel like when I first got the car the turbo read
    -.05 almost always at idle... But at the same time I really never look at it that much...
    Can someone tell me what their WRX turbo gauge reads at idle rest??

Also any ideas? I have no clue where to start with this...

My clutch feels normal, mayb slightly less pressure... But I think thats normal wear and tear that a clutch takes...

So weird smell... went away, now car feels sluggish and potential turbo problem?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Welcome to the club!!!

It sounds almost like a boost leak.