Help or insight appreciated
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Help or insight appreciated within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; This is my first post here after lingering for a while, and I am an admin on another net forum ...

Help or insight appreciated

This is my first post here after lingering for a while, and I am an admin on another net forum so *forgive me mods/admin if this is the wrong place for this, feel free to move it.

Ok, here goes.... I own a 2.0L 2005 WRX sedan. Currently has 91k on it and I have been doing regular oil changes (Mobil 1) every 3-4kmiles. I have had a few problems for some time now and a few that are newer, but I wanted to get the "experts" insight if I may (which it seems many of you here are).

I will list what I can think of right now and any advise would be appreciated.

This weekend I am doing the following and dont know what may help or not but doing it either way... Oil change, fuel filter, injector cleaning (removal), and a new air filter.

Problems:

-fairly decent lag in first gear. More or less a bit of a shudder off the line like you would expect from a warped flywheel which it very well could be but I dont know.

-the a/c compressor making an obscenely bad sound, which I read here was likely the idler pulley and will be replacing shortly as well.

-(this one is strange) I noticed that my heater only blows ambient air when the car is at idle. When I first got it, you could fry an egg on the heater vents, and now only warms up when driving/engine revved.

-(only a menial problem as I dont race the car particularly) The turbo will still spool but seems to take a little while longer, and I am not getting the full 13-16(? stock) boost indicated on the gauge.