CEL help
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on CEL help within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Thanks for reading, I'm new to subarus, I just bought a 04 wrx two months ago and love it. The ...

CEL help

Thanks for reading, I'm new to subarus, I just bought a 04 wrx two months ago and love it. The other night I was cruising around 50mph and my CEL came on. Next day I went to Autozone and had it scanned, P0420. (Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1). I then found out what this code could be by looking on google. I dropped off the car at a mechanic to have it checked out. It will be looked at on monday (8/17).

The current mods are:
    K&N typhoon intake
    Perrin uppipe
    TurboXS TBE with high flow cat
    Magnaflow exhaust
    ECUtec reflash
    (91,000K)

is the rear 02 sensor bad? it seems that after an aftermarket exhaust/cat and a good tune with these mods, it would be the sensor rather than a bad cat? Can i run with the sensor unplugged and just have the light reset? ANY help is appreciated!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

It is prob your high flow cat, I got this CEL when I switched from stock to a 3" catted downpipe, it would come and go randomly. You can drive fine with it on and it is a little strange that you have a reflash and are still getting it since usually the reflash turns the CEL off (mine did).
    My woman hates the money pit
    2002 WRX Hybrid 2.5L 16G

thanks for the reply, so if this CEL becomes a reacurrance, how do I go about turning the light off? thanks again!

Either get your tuner to reflash you and disable the code or do a CEL fix, there are several ways, do a search on here or NASIOC to find how. I did a mechanical fix when I got the downpipe and I still got the CEL periodically.
    2002 WRX Hybrid 2.5L 16G