newbie here, 02wrx question please help
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on newbie here, 02wrx question please help within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Alright guys, so I just bought a 2002 wrx on auction. (maybe a bad idea?) While driving the car, everything ...

newbie here, 02wrx question please help

Alright guys, so I just bought a 2002 wrx on auction. (maybe a bad idea?) While driving the car, everything seems normal until 4700 rpm where it just kinda cuts off. It just feels like the rev limiter, but way too early. To be honest, I know almost nothing about these cars but I have been working on cars for quite some time.

The car seems to be slightly modified; the usual intake, exhaust, turbo timer, etc. Boost guage at 4500 rpm shows about 17-18 psi. I'm sure there is a simple answer to this question. Could the car have been electronically programmed to do that? But why..?

Thanks for your input everyone

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Does the car actually feel like its boosting 18 PSI...are you sure thats the stock turbo on there? Do you have any history on the car? with the mods on it the car should have def. been tuned if the previous owner did it the correct way... How many miles are on this WRX? So when you hit 4700 RPM with your foot on the gas what exactly happens..does it actually bounce like you mentioned off of a rev limiter....does the boost drop off to 0 at 4700 RPM? do you have any other gauges in the vehicle to monitor anything besides boost?

If possible, it would be great if you could take a video of the instrument panel as this happens, that way we can see whats happening and hear it.