CEL and sudden loss of fuel/fuel pressure??? HELP!!!

This is a discussion on CEL and sudden loss of fuel/fuel pressure??? HELP!!! within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; ok i'm new to the subie scene and i turn to the forums for help...on monday (04/27) the CEL came ...

CEL and sudden loss of fuel/fuel pressure??? HELP!!!

ok i'm new to the subie scene and i turn to the forums for help...on monday (04/27) the CEL came on on my 02 wrx wagon w/approx 99k miles on it. so i did some research and read that it could possibly be from the gas cap not being tightened all the way...so i reset the ECU (disconnect neg battery wire, pump brakes, wait 10 mins, and re-attach battery wire) and tighten the gas cap...problem solved...

fast forward to today (thursday) the CEL pops back on and my fuel level doesn't even move up (knowing i had atleast 1/2 tank) and my fuel light comes on. as i'm sitting there idling it goes back up to 1/4 tank and fluctuates between empty and 1/4 tank. once i start driving the fuel needle goes back up to 1/2 tank but the CEL is still on.

now the car runs great minus a little bit of a rough idle on cold start...i'm thinking it has to do with the MAF or the fuel pressure system...but then again i'm new to subaru and turbo cars and have no clue what's goin' on.

can anyone please help me with this? or tell me what steps you've taken after having a similar problem? i def plan on getting the codes read but i'm hoping to hear from people that have had the same problems. thanks in advance!!!

pic for views. pic of the car in question is behind the M3

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    The easiest way for help is the code. I don't want to make this sound like an easy cop-out, but the computer knows more about what's going wrong with the car than you do!
    Kevin
    Sinister's Blowoff Valve FAQ
    WRX Gas Mileage FAQ