2003 wrx code P0420
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on 2003 wrx code P0420 within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; hi all. i'm new to subaru vehicles and my 2003 wrx wagon is my first. i got it 3 days ...

2003 wrx code P0420

hi all. i'm new to subaru vehicles and my 2003 wrx wagon is my first. i got it 3 days ago and this morning i got code P0420. i noticed a bit of a rough idle since i test drove it, but i figured it was something minor that a sparkplug change would fix. the car has around 85,300 miles. from what i can tell the muffler is a flowmaster with a magnaflow tip, but everything before that is stock (i may be wrong). i got it scanned at autozone.

i'm posting a pic of the engine bay to see if you guys can spot any culprits.

i hope its nothing major . thanks for your help.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

P0420 is Catalyst system efficency below threshold....I would first make sure you dont have an aftermarket catless up pipe or downpipe..that would easily throw that code....also its rare but a bad/lazy 02 sensor can throw this code....first find out if you have all the stock Cat. Conv.'s on the car and well go from there...
    Last edited by EvoEatr; 02-28-2009 at 05:04 PM.

thank you for the reply EvoEater.

that's one cat i believe, right after the turbo.

I Support ClubWRX
    actually its two but whos counting... You may have an aftermarket up pipe throwing the code, could be o2 sensors with the mileage, or your cats could of simply failed. Good thing is catalytic converters are federally warrantied for 80k, since your close to that mark I would call your local subaru dealer and ask wassup.

Lead Wrench @ WTF Tuning, LLC

so will it be ok if i drive it around like that for a while? also, if it is an 02, which one should i get and where should i buy it?

thanks for the help guys.