low speed shake 03 wrx sedan

This is a discussion on low speed shake 03 wrx sedan within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; well im new to wrx's and looking to pick up this 03 wrx next saturday and i like the car, ...

low speed shake 03 wrx sedan

well im new to wrx's and looking to pick up this 03 wrx next saturday and i like the car, but it has one issue im unsure of.

when you pull away from a dead stop or low speed like 10mph or under in 1st or 2nd, the car has a shake to it. kinda like if you let the clutch out to fast and its about to die kinda feeling. but its not going to die, it just shakes a little.

the current owner told me it has an exedy stage 2 clutch and an ACT lightweight flywheel.

i remember hearing that lightweight flywheels were horrible in parking lots and low speeds, so is that most likely whats causing it? or is there a common problm with wrx's that causes this?

if its just the flywheel/clutch combo, plus me not being used to that setup doesnt help, i shouldnt be worried right? thanks for any and all info

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I don't know about that, but at low speeds it could be the tires coming apart from the inside.
    I work on vehicles that make 650hp and 2400ft/lbs.

i was thinking the tires may be out of balance.....i would do a thorough visual inspection and if you dont come up with anything i would check the balance on the tires and than if you dont come up with anything i really wouldnt be too concerned.....it does take some getting used to with a new clutch/new car....

Quote Originally Posted by EvoEatr View Post