03wrx hesitation, noise
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on 03wrx hesitation, noise within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; i just bought an 03 wrx and i have a couple questions. i noticed that i have a little hesitation ...

03wrx hesitation, noise

i just bought an 03 wrx and i have a couple questions. i noticed that i have a little hesitation around 2500 rpm at low throttle. also i noticed it idles low, around 5-600 rpm. im new to subarus and i was wondering if this was normal idle, and if the hesitation was from a boost or vacuum leak? any ideas? also ive noticed that the valvetrain ticks kind of loud, it sounds like i might be low on oil but i checked it and the level is fine. is that normal for it to tick a little?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    A little ticking is normal.

Look closely at the tach. The first line, on the bottom, is not zero; it's 500 rpm. It's likely the car is idling a little over 750 -- not 500 as you suspect.

Is the Check Engine Light on?

Are there any modifications to the car?

What is the service history? How many miles? Have the required items been serviced?

Does the car pull well otherwise?
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    Man is a brute.... If you're cruel to him, he respects and fears you. If you're kind to him, he plucks your eyes out. Alexis Zorbas
    I lied. I cheated. I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I am an accessory to murder. But the most damning thing of all... I think I can live with it. And if I had to do it all over again - I would. Benjamin Sisko
    DISCLAIMER: Opinions expressed are the author's alone and are inherently worthless.