PO420 Code

This is a discussion on PO420 Code within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hello to all. I am new at this, but I was hoping to get some good help with getting this ...

Exclamation PO420 Code

Hello to all.
    I am new at this, but I was hoping to get some good help with getting this stupid code off my dash. So, I have been getting this PO420 code for a few weeks now. First, I got a friend to just go ahead and reset the system to turn the light off, then it came back on a few weeks later. I have now gone the cheap route, or so I'm told, and went to purchase a new O2 sensor first before I went into thinking it was my catalytic converter. So, now that the sensor has been replaced the light went off for about 6 days. Now, the light it back on, I have gotten the engine read again and it is saying the same thing, that my catalyst efficiency is low. Well, I called a dealer today, and got some horrendous news on the price of a new catalytic converter plus labor....it was goddamn ridiculous. But anyways, I was wondering if anyone knew the exact part number or anywhere else to find the part so I can get someone to fix it for a lot less money. Also, I have been reading about this code for the last hour or so online, and it seems as though a lot of people have had problems with their subie's having this code go off and it not going away even after replacing the catalytic converter. PLEASE HELP ME!!! I AM SOOO CONFUSED!
    -Tessa

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    The price of a catcon is not relevant right now.

What year is the car?

Is the car modified? If so, how? If not, see below:

How many miles on the car?

What state is the car located in?

What does the owner's manual state about the EMISSIONS warranty for that state? Not the driveline or bumper to bumper or anything else -- the emissions warranty?